League of Women Voters®
of Lexington, KY
  • Home
  • News
  • Essay Contest Winners Announced

Essay Contest Winners Announced

07 Feb 2017 9:52 AM | Tammy Fagley (Administrator)

President Tammy Fagley announced the Lexington League of Women Voters essay contest winners today.  First place with a prize of $250 went to Hanae Yoshida, a 9th grade student at Sayre Upper School. Second place and a prize of $150 went to Sahar Mohammadzadeh, an 11th grade student at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School.  Third place with a prize of $100 went to Jons Theodore Ehrenborg, a 10th grade student at Henry Clay High School.  Samwele John, a 12th grade ELL (English Language Learner) student at Lafayette High School, won a special recognition award of $100.  This award honored the extra effort needed to address complex ideas in a second language.

Honorariums of $50 each were awarded to recognize teachers cited by writers as mentors. These teachers are: George Bebensee at Sayre; Kristin Studle, counselor at Paul Laurence Dunbar; Scott Brown at Henry Clay; and Tim Mitsumori at Lafayette.

This year students in public and private Fayette County High Schools were encouraged to submit essays responding to the divisive 2016 presidential election campaign.  Writers were asked to reflect on the experience and explain lessons learned from that experience.


“The League sponsors this essay contest each year to encourage and support student interest in the democratic process,” said Fagley. “We want to encourage students to take responsibility as citizens, vote and, perhaps, run for public office one day.”


Carol O’Reilly, who made the presentations, commended the students on their thoughtful reflections and excellent writing skills.  “I was so honored just to read their work,” she said.

© League of Women Voters of Lexington
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software