League of Women Voters®
of Lexington, KY


<< First  < Prev   ...   3   4   5   6   7   Next >  Last >> 
  • 08 Sep 2013 3:17 PM | Anonymous
    This year the League of Women Voters of Lexington offers a topic often overlooked because its implications are not immediately obvious--the practice of gerrymandering. And, specifically, what happens to the value of each individual vote in gerrymandered districts? The contest is open to students in grades 9-12 who are attending a Fayette County school. For all the details, please see the flyer: 
    LWV 2013_Essay_Flyer.pdf

    Good luck! 
  • 25 Aug 2013 9:30 PM | Anonymous

    The League of Women Voters of Lexington recently elected officers and board of directors for the 2013-2014 year.

    Tammy Fagley was re-elected as president; Cindy Heine, 1st vice-president; Karen Anderson, 2nd vice-president; Lynne Flynn, secretary and Steve Senft was re-elected as treasurer. 

    Board members include Richard Heine, Judy Johnson,Barbara Sterrett and Kerri Kolarik.

    The League is an activist nonpartisan organization of women and men that encourages citizen involvement in government through voter registration, lectures, candidate forums and programs, all of which are free. The League also publishes an annual “blue sheet” that provides contact information on all government officials and offices of concern to Fayette County residents.  Women and men interested in membership can contact the League at 859-494-3203 or at lwvlexington@gmail.com.

  • 01 May 2013 4:32 PM | Anonymous

    League members attending the annual meeting on April 27th elected Tammy Fagley to a one year term as president. Cindy Heine will serve the second year of a two year term as vice president and Karen Anderson was elected to a two year term as second vice president. Lynne Flynn joins the list of officers, elected to serve a two year term as secretary and Steve Senft will complete the second year of a two year term as treasurer. Members of the board of directors elected to serve one year terms are: Barbara Sterrett, membership; Judy Johnson, the newsletter and essay contest; Richard Heine, local government; and Kerri Kolarik, voter services. Roz Heise will handle the naturalization ceremonies as an off-board responsibility. The new nominating committee will be: Richard Heine (chair); Diana Clewett, Eve Podet, and Barbara Sterrett. 

    Other business: The proposed budget was passed which includes an increase in membership dues. Dues will now be $60 for single membership; $90 for family membership; and $30 for student membership. The need for an increase was created by several factors. First, only $4 of each member’s dues stays at the local level. Even though the LWV Education Fund was well endowed by a gift from the estate of Elaine Adland, that money can be used only for educational activities - the essay contest, voter materials, etc. Because of loss of long time members who died this year and moves by other members out of state and despite state LWV minimizing expenses (including giving up the Frankfort office), our general fund income - which is used for everything else - is declining. At this point, a reminder - memberships should be renewed before June in order to have an accurate budget by July 1 when it goes into effect.The League will provide opportunities this fall for members to participate in the state LWV study of civics education, gathering data and coming to consensus. The League also voted to participate in the state program to monitor statewide implementation of the affordable Health Care Act and its impact on Kentuckians. The League intends to be vigilant, to read the small print, to insist on transparency, oversight of contracts, and accountability. League members will “investigate the affordability, adequacy, and dependability of coverage provided by the state’s Medicaid programs and by insurers participating in the exchange.” Richard Heine will be the contact person for the Lexington LWV. Increasing membership will be our focus this year, reaching out on a one-to-one basis with friends who might be interested in participating in one of the LWV events or activities planned for 2013-14 and introducing them to our work in this manner.

  • 01 Feb 2013 3:38 PM | Anonymous

    In December we announced that Henry Clay High School had dominated the Lexington League of Women Voters’ annual essay contest, which encouraged students to examine and assess their understanding of a recent Supreme Court decision. Top honors and $250 went to Amir Abou-Jaoude, a freshman in the Liberal Arts Academy, for “That Clinking Clanking Sound … That’s What Makes Elections Go Round.” Emily Salamanca was runner-up ($150), and Kayla Beebout took third place ($100). This year was the first time that one class at one school swept all three prizes. (The essays are scored blind with no identifying information.) Social studies and government teacher Scott Brown received all three honorariums totaling $200. The winner, Amir Abou-Jaoude, was a creative writing major for five years at SCAPA before moving to Henry Clay HS.  He summarized the benefits of participation in this challenge, “I was able to fully understand what the Citizens United decision meant and I was able to improve my writing.  This contest informed me about the Supreme Court's decision and it was a timely topic, especially in light of the 2012 elections.” Amir also encouraged us to promote this contest saying, “This is a great contest, but I feel that it needs to be advertised more. I feel that a lot more people would participate in the contest if they knew it existed.”  We will work on this, Amir. The League congratulates these students -Amir, Emily, and Kayla - as well as Scott Brown, the teacher who challenged them and provided outside resources to increase their knowledge base.

    L to R: Henry Clay HS principal Greg Quenon, students Emily Salamanca (second) , Kayla Beebout (third) and Amir Abou-Jaoude (first), Lexington LWV president Tammy Fagley and government teacher Scott Brown.

<< First  < Prev   ...   3   4   5   6   7   Next >  Last >> 
© League of Women Voters of Lexington
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software